Liszt and Shostakovich in Toulouse

At La Halle aux Grains, Toulouse, for an excellent concert by the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse under Tugan Sokhiev. The first half saw Liszt’s ‘Piano Concerto no. 1’ wonderfully played by the renowned French pianist Lucas Debargue, who was deservedly called back for two encores. The second half was a powerful performance of the ‘Eighth Symphony’ of Dimitri Shostakovich, an epic work which evokes the suffering of the second world war.

Lucas Debargue

Lucas Debargue

Tugan Sokhiev

Tugan Sokhiev

Liszt: ‘Piano Concerto no. 1 in E Flat’ S.124; Shostakovich ‘Symphony no. 8’ opus 65.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s