Shostakovich and Stravinsky

An excellent concert at Maison de la Radio France began with an extremely well-played rendition of Stravinsky’s short classical composition ‘Septet’, with strings, woodwinds and piano all performing superbly. Next was, for me, the highlight of the evening, Karen Gomyo as soloist in Shostakovich’s ‘Concerto for Violin and Orchestra no. 1’. It was an intensive, whirlwind performance that was also sensitive and technically brilliant that deservedly brought endless applause and an encore.

The second half was no less exciting as the Radio France Philharmonique under Mikko Franck performed a magnificent ‘Sacre du Printemps’, with the strings, winds and percussion all on top form. It was a memorable evening.

Karen Gomyo with Mikko Franck and the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France

Stravinsky: ‘Septuor’; Shostakovich ‘Concerto for Violin and Orchestra no. 1; Stravinsky ‘Le Sacre du Printemps’ (‘The Rite of Spring’)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s